img 1597232612991 1597232644117

Pending bye-elections in twelve (12) constituencies across eight (8) states in Nigeria have been scheduled for Saturday, 31st October, 2020, TheConscienceNG reports. 

The Independent National Electoral Commission INEC announced this in a statement on Tuesday August 11 after detailed reviews of outstanding bye-elections, conduct of Nasarawa Central state constituency election held on August 8 and preparations for Edo and Ondo gubernatorial elections slated for 19 September and 10 October, 2020 respectively.

READ MORE: Edo, Ondo Polls: Covid-19 Forces INEC to Begin Partial E-voting, Says Nomination Forms to be Submitted on e-Platform

TheConscienceNG reports that the commission in a statement signed by Barrister Festus Okoye, National Commissioner and Chairman, Voters Education Committee, said it has “scheduled all pending bye-elections for Saturday 31st October 2020.”

“The Commission stated further that “By the harmonised Timetable, the commission will give the Notice of Elections on 17 August 2020 while political parties will conduct their primaries to nominate candidates between August 24 and 8 September 2020.

READ MORE: Lagos Governor Assists Less Privileged with Finances (Photos)

“Submission of forms and Personal Particulars of Candidates will commence on 9 September and close 13 September. Timetable and Schedule of Activities for the bye elections has been uploaded on INEC website and social media.

Okoye listed the affected States for bye-elections to include Lagos, Bayelsa, Imo, Borno, Cross River, Plateau, Kogi and Zamfara.

Addressing Covid-19 concerns, Okoye assured that INEC has ” developed its Policy on Conducting Elections in the context of the Covid-19 pandemic, its regulations and Guidelines and engaged with health authorities and stakeholders on conducting Elections in an environment that guarantees both credibility and public safety.




Comment here